Skip to content

AwesomeZord

A blog about all things cool and nerdy.

In which I apologize profusely to Twilight’s Taylor Lautner for anything bad about him that I may or may not have said.

I have mad respect for martial artists. I’m a kung fu film junkie to the core. One of my goals in life is to learn a martial art, but as of yet my laziness and schoolwork have teamed up to keep me from learning how to bust some faces.

I also can’t stand the Twilight saga. At all. I won’t rag on it right now, but I can rant for hours about that insipid pile of crap. I’m pretty sure I’ve made fun of every actor/actress who ambled listlessly through the horrendous first movie, but now I may have to eat at least a few of those words.

Taylor Lautner, who played the (non-werewolf) werewolf love-interest something or other in the recently released New Moon, is apparently a long time karate practitioner. As in, has been doing this for years, because he wanted to, not because a film role called for it. The best part is, he’s actually quite good. Check out the floor demo he performed on a recent episode of Saturday Night Live, embedded below.

I HAD NO IDEA.

While it certainly doesn’t excuse him from appearing in the tween-screams that have made him a gigantohumungoid star, I have to recognize the dude’s obvious talent. I can only hope that he makes the most of his abilities and shows up in a martial arts flick. Despite my animosity towards anything Twilight related, I’ll be the first in line to see Lautner wreck some baddies with that bo staff.

Via Kung Fu Cinema

Tags: , , , ,

